Govt. announces results of doctors’ specialization scholarships

Higher Education Minister Dr. Ibrahim Hassan. (Sun Photo/Naail Hussain)

The Higher Education Ministry has announced the tentative results of this year’s Medical Doctors’ Specialization Scholarships.

Applications for this year’s scholarship program, introduced under the policy to develop human resources needed for national development, had opened on April 20.

The tentative results were announced by Higher Education Minister Dr. Ibrahim Hassan on Tuesday.

This year’s program received 49 applications to specialize in seven fields; anesthesiology, internal medicine, spinal surgery, pediatric pulmonology, gynecology, general surgery, and pediatrics.

Announcing the tentative results, Ibrahim said that development of human resources is a priority area for the Maldivian administration.

He said that he hopes to see the doctors return and improve the quality of healthcare services in Maldives after specialization.

“Preparing technical experts in healthcare is one of this administration’s top priorities. I note with pleasure that doctors have been given scholarships to specialize. They will sign a contractual agreement with the Ministry of Health upon return after specialization.

According to Ibrahim, the selected doctors will receive full scholarships from the government, that will cover two-way tickets, stipend, book allowance, course fee, establishment allowance, departure allowance, insurance, and visa expenses.

The Higher Education Ministry is scheduled to announce the permanent results on August 10.

“The selected candidates will need to submit unconditional placements within six months they are notified of their selection. And they will need to begin their studies within 10 months they are notified of their selection,” said the ministry.

The tentative results of the scholarship program were posted on the Higher Education Ministry’s website on Tuesday. Candidates can submit complaints via mail until August 8.

The Medical Doctors’ Specialization Scholarships Program was introduced last year. Eight doctors received the scholarship last year.